Monday, November 17, 2008

New 7 Wonders of the World

Lately, I'm all about making all these travel plans. Aside from seeing all the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Korea, I was curious if I could polish off the 7 wonders of the world as well. From doing a little research, I guess those have changed. In July 2007, they named seven new wonders of the world.

The Pyramid at Chichén Itzá (before 800 A.D.) Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico
Christ Redeemer (1931) Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
The Roman Colosseum (70 - 82 A.D.) Rome, Italy
The Great Wall of China (220 B.C and 1368 - 1644 A.D.) China
Machu Picchu (1460-1470), Peru
Petra (9 B.C. - 40 A.D.), Jordan
The Taj Mahal (1630 A.D.) Agra, India

I've been to 2 of these. And will post a picture of both after work tonight. 2 others I think are in my reach. Hmm!


"Sunshine" said...

I've wanted to go to 1,3,5, and 7, and that was before I even realized they were Wonders of the World. Awesome. Good luck in achieving your goal (I'm sure you won't have any problem seeing the five you have left).

r-yo said...

Sadly, I haven't been to any one. I really hope I could see at least three before I disappear. :-)